The Resilient Australia Awards is a national program that recognises and promotes initiatives that strengthen community disaster resilience across the nation.

Photograph of the 2016 Resilient Australia Schools Award Winners Photograph of the 2016 winner of the Resilient Australia Photographic Award Photograph of the 2016 finalists in the Resilient Australia Awards

By celebrating innovation and exemplary practice, the Resilient Australia Awards showcase work that is often unseen, motivating others to think about how they can be better prepared and more disaster resilient.  The awards program started in 2000, and has a solid history in Australia's emergency management sector. The Resilient Australia Awards are proudly sponsored by the Australian Attorney-General's Department in conjunction with the states and territories.


2017 Resilient Australia Awards

Applications for the 2017 Resilient Australia Awards are now closed.  Entries for this year's awards must relate to projects/initiatives which commenced after 1 January 2015, or demonstrate significant outcomes or enhancements since 1 January 2015.

Follow the links below to find more information:

Read the Award Guidelines

Submit your application for the Awards through the online entry portal


More information

For more information, email