Resilient Australia Awards 2020 winners annouced

The winners of the 2020 Resilient Australia Awards were announced at the National Ceremony in Canberra on 4 December.

AIDR was pleased to host the 21st Resilient Australia Awards National Ceremony in at the National Museum in Canberra, an event that showcased initiatives contributing to the development of a disaster resilient Australia.

For the first time in the history of the awards, the National Ceremony was streamed live to share the announcing of the awards with an online audience. The National Ceremony was supported by Suncorp. 

During her address at the National Ceremony, AIDR Executive Director Amanda Leck acknowledged the efforts of all initiatives submitted to the Resilient Australia Awards.

'Congratulations to all who submitted projects and photos for this year’s program – your efforts are truly inspiring', she said. 

Find out more about this year’s winning projects and the finalists nominated in each category below: 

2020 Resilient Australia National Award


  • Queensland Centre for Perinatal and Infant Mental Health - Birdie's Tree universal resources: Growing together through natural disasters

Highly commended

  • Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries - Drought and Climate Adaption Program
  • JDA CO Pty Ltd - Building Australia's Residential Flood Resilience

Outstanding contribution

  • ABC - ABC Emergency Broadcasting

2020 Resilient Australia Suncorp National Community Award


  • Next Steps Inc - Ask Me What I Need

Highly commended

  • Queenslanders with Disability Network - Person-Centred Emergency Preparedness (PCEP) Planning for COVID-19 for people with disability
  • Bendigo Foodshare - Resilient Central Victoria Rescues, Grows, Cooks and Shares for Food Security

2020 Resilient Australia National Photography Award


  • Nikki Woods - The Driveway Project

Highly commended

  • Blair Horgan - From A Different Angle
  • James Morris - Toddler of hero father presented with bravery medal

2020 Resilient Australia National Local Government Award


  • City of Hobart - Resilient Hobart

Highly commended

  • The Shire of Bruce Rock - Bruce Rocks' Community Supermarket
  • Scenic Rim Regional Council - Scenic Rim Farm Box

2020 Resilient Australia National School Award


  • Thuringowa State High School - Disaster Resilience for a Changing Climate Grand Challenge

Highly commended

  • Augusta Primary School - Year 6 - Exploring Augusta's Emergency Services
  • Timboon P-12 School - STEP UP!, Timboon Agriculture Project (TAP)